2005-02-07

Living life, don't regret a moment; you know who you are

So I was sitting on her couch, with her sitting next to me, her head resting on my shoulder. She had said that she wanted to talk, so I was giving her a chance to do so. I wasn't going to start things - I was still in anger at this point, though tinted with bouts of grief. She didn't really say anything for a good five minutes or so. I felt that was ample time to at least say *something*, so I told her I was going to go ahead and leave. I really didn't want to do a prolonged hug type thing, so I went ahead and just left. Apparently, I shut the door with more force than was necessary - her carpet still gets in the way and makes things difficult. I really, really wasn't slamming the door.

However, she didn't see things that way. She yelled something along the lines of "Fine, just charge out of here and slam the door!" I turned and looked back at her, and she sort of shut the door real hard and ran off crying.

I haven't made a girl cry in... three years? Almost four? Something like that.

I was really angry at that point, so I left.

However, I got as far as the entrance to her apartment complex before I pulled into a parking spot, counted to ten in several languages, then turned back. I wasn't trying to patch things up, but I didn't want to leave on that note. I hate arguments about stupid little things; I hate it when they blow up into big arguments. I've seen it happen with my parents, Mom and Jerry, friends, and I've caught myself doing it. So now, when I see it happening, or the potential for it to do so, I try to stop things and settle that issue for what is before it gets out of hand. So I went back, and knocked on her door. I don't remember if she pulled the door open slightly, or just called out, or something along those lines.

But I apologized. I didn't apologize for slamming the door, since I didn't, but I did apologize for giving the impression that I charged out of there and slammed the door. She seemed to accept it; we stood there for about five minutes, her inside with the door open approximately as far as the internal chain lock would allow; I was just standing outside. Neither of us said anything or made any move. I wasn't sure where to go from there.

And it's time to go to class, so I'll try to finish this when I get home.

1 comment:

Jackalope said...

I didn't remember that you cried.

I remembered the day - which day of the month it was - Feb. 1st, what happened on that day - Super Bowl, everything about it. I had just forgotten that you cried.