2006-12-29

Cover me in ecstasy

Guess I'm in a posting mood today. I have an hour, maybe two, before I have to spring into action and start getting some errands taken care of - deposit my paycheck, drop off rent, purchase a bird bath for Bam and Greg, go do some clothes shopping at the Outlet Mall, courtesy of the gift card Mom got me, and I think that's all? Oh! I also have to drop by Mom's, grab my cell phone and get some food out of the fridge that expires today. My phone's been missing for a few days now, it was in Janelle's car. Turns out it fell out as I was getting in. Or out. Whatever. It's funny, 'cause there's going to be about five missed calls from the apartment, a few from the house, a few from Rose, and probably a bunch from Mom.

The thing that complicates all of this, and prevented me from doing any of it yesterday is that my truck's in the shop again, for the same old issue. It's starting to get really, really annoying. I don't know how this guy managed to get Bill Mann to give him the SMAC contract, but he really, really doesn't deserve it. I definitely won't be going to him for any of my mechanical needs, once this thing is done, which are coming up - I need a new fanbelt, probably could use an oil change... good stuff.

So yeah. The thing that complicates this... wait, did that. The other thing that complicates this is that I have to pick Mom up at 2:30 to take her from one of her jobs to the other. I think she might be dropping me of at the apartment instead? Something like that. Either way, I'll be leaving at noon, or when Femaledwarf hits 52 (41k xp to go!), but not whichever comes first. I'm not sure.

So, New Year's is coming up. To be frank, Christmas wasn't that great this year. I've already done my disclaimer on bitching about it, and I'd like to just reference it and say it holds here as well. Hell, let's just have it as my standard disclaimer to every post I've ever made in which I bitched about things are, in the grand scheme of things, relatively minor (Note: everything I've ever really bitched about). I don't think New Year's is going to be any better. Well, it won't be worse, but it won't be good at all, because it's going to be a normal work day. We go on break at midnight, which means I'll probably have to deal with a bunch of co-workers being all "Happy New Year's!" I hate that. Well, I don't hate that. I hate random people wishing me a happy New Year's. I guess it's just one of those little idiosyncratic things about me, like how I hate salespeople coming up to me and asking me if I need any assistance in a store. It's polite, it's a nice way of showing compassion for your fellow human beings, and it drives me nuts. Now, I love being wished a happy New Year's by important people.

But I'm going to reminisce about past Christmas/New Year's, and why they sucked. I mean, I don't automatically assume it's going to suck, but I don't shy away from the reality of the situation.

jakalope -- Feel It

No comments: