So I'm on my weekend, I've got tonight, all day tomorrow, and the next morning off; we've already done birthday dinner, so now it's just me, playing WoW. Hanging with the guys, which is always fun; I think they're going to run me through Gnomer. Or something. Whatever.
So Bambi managed to get our hockey tickets moved to December third, which is awesome, since I usually have Sundays off, and even if I don't, I'll probably be able to get Paul or Nolan to switch with me, and even if I can't, it's at four in the afternoon, so I can go even if I have to work. I'd rather not have to work that day, though. Although, I get to bring one guest, and I'm not sure who to bring. Janelle can't go, she has a recital that day or finals the next day or something. David doesn't really care for hockey. Lilie's leaving the next day to go to California. Jarrod's next to impossible to get a hold of, and usually works Sunday afternoon anyway. Ambra doesn't really care for hockey either. Sadly, that about exhausts my list of prospects. I might try giving Cullen a call, see if he's interested in going. Other than that, I'm not sure.
My birthday was alright this year. I mean, my actual birthday sucked - I was at work when it started at 12:00:01 am, was there until around 8:30, went to Mom's for a fantastic breakfast, then went home, crashed, then went back to work at 10. Not the best of days. Today, though, was a lot better. Got off work around eight again, came home, crashed. Woke up, joined the family and David for dinner at Chili's. Had a blast all spending time together, then we went back to the house for cake and ice cream, which was also great. Well, kinda. It was weird - orange cake, orange sherbert. After that, tried to do some work on Janelle's computer, don't think I really accomplished very much - wasn't able to fix the CD drive. It's really weird - it takes in the disc, the system recognizes that a disc is in there, but it won't show any of the files on the disc. Music, data, burnt or original, all the same. However, it doesn't have a problem with DVDs. So, I don't know. I did get her set up with Firefox and Avast, though, so that's a step in the right direction.
Work's been going okay. I think I've finally started to settle in to the job, the routine. It's basically the same from day to day, though we do have a few weird days coming up with the day after Thanksgiving and Christmas. It's definitely not something I want to be doing for very long, but for right now, it's okay. The people situation is interesting - there are people there that annoy me, but I don't have to deal with them nearly as much. I mean, yeah, we're working together and are a team, but the majority of the shift is throwing freight in an aisle, by myself. So even though Brenda annoys the fucking shit out of me, she wouldn't ever cause me to quit, like Mal did. Why does she annoy me so much? Well... I should preface it by saying that I'm a huge supporter of gender equality. I know that humanity has been very patriarchal through most of its history, in some places still is, and the traditions and 'norms' of more liberal societies are still favoring men in many areas. I can understand that. I wouldn't seek to deny women their equal rights, nor lessen the role of those who have fought for them. And certainly, we still have a ways to go. That being said...
NOT EVERY DISAGREEMENT BETWEEN A MAN AND A WOMAN IS A GENDER ISSUE.
For example: There's a palette of cooking oil. Each case has like six big containers; the palette is three or four layers deep. It's on one side of the grocery aisles; the cooking oil is going to be set up as a huge stack in this area on the other side of the grocery aisles. They told me to use a palette jack and move the whole thing over there, that way, we could just move straight from the palette to the display. I go to start doing that; Brenda freaks out. It's her stuff, and she wants to load it onto a cart first, move the cart, then move the stuff from the cart to the display. I tried explaining to her what I was trying to do, but she starts going off, saying rather loudly, "I'm a woman! I'm not afraid of a little lifting!" Which, of course, had NOTHING TO DO with anything. Another point, Nolan had asked her if she was going to get all her freight thrown in time, because she had a lot of it on her aisle; she responds with a rant about how of course she will, she's a woman, they're strong enough to give birth, then her and another female go off into a series of jokes and what-not, the gist of which was that if men gave birth, the human species would die off very, very quickly. Again, I'm not demeaning the incredible experience that is giving birth, nor denying that it takes an incredible will to go through it. It's just... this whole thing is born out of gender inequality, people reacting a certain way towards others based solely on gender; this sort of thing only perpetuates it. It really drives me nuts.
The only other person at work that really merits comment is Conner - he also annoys me, though not as much. He reminds me a lot of JP, and sort of like Uncle Freddie, but twisted in a bad way. He has the sort of "Ooh, I don't care what anyone thinks, I'm extreme and in your face, and fuck you!" mentality, but he likes to flaunt it. I mean, it's cool not to care - I sure don't, but I don't bring it up in conversation every five minutes, either. He also has a tendency to make bizarre absolute statements like "The true gamer will ALWAYS buy Nintendo", then back them up with things that either a) don't support what he just said, b) don't make any sense, or c) are wrong and/or made up. So yeah, that kind of gets on my nerves a little, but overall, he's pretty cool.
Lily Allen -- Smile



No comments:
Post a Comment