2006-03-21

Angryanus - the story of an asshole

So, once I had Gnometastic to 60, I started leveling a priest called Ihatebrooms. Actually, I had started Ihatebrooms before Gnometastic hit 60, but left her alone during the final push. When it came time to get Gnometastic's epic mount, though, I started leveling her again, since she could really help with the Arcanite Bars and Elixers of Shadow Power. So, I'm in Redridge, soloing, as any low level priest might be, and there's this guy being a total ass in General. Normally, that doesn't bother me, but he's being a real jerk. I don't want to engage in a verbal battle with him, and I could always ignore him, but then I'd just be reading the responses to him, which is a) almost as bad, and b) annoying to be party to only half a conversation. So, I resolved myself to just leveling out of Redridge as fast as I could, and not have to deal with this guy anymore.

Except... his name is Angryanus, which is clearly against the naming policy. Now, I should preface this by saying I don't usually report names. Back when I was in Feathermoon, and rolled with Lilie's guild, they *loved* reporting names. Anything that was vaguely non pseudo-medieval, they reported. I thought it was kind of stupid, but hey, they did break the rules they agreed to in the first place. Whatever. Fast-foward back to Redridge. I say in General, "How do you report someone for having an inappropriate name?" Everyone, especially him, knew exactly what I was talking about. He starts going off, about how reporting names is childish, and that his name isn't inappropriate, it's just a name of a body part. That contains a contradiction, though - if his name *isn't* inapproprite, then he has no reason to fear it being reported. He *knew* what would happen. So he starts going off in general about what a kid I am, etc.

I win.

Flash foward to yesterday. I'm in AV with Gnometastic, and there's this guy named Angryenis or something like that. I start to wonder, and eventually ask (this is all in general) if he used to be named something else, and he responds positively. I tell him that *I'm* the one who reported him, and again, he goes off, calling me a little kid, immature, and says that he should report me for harrassment. Oh, and used a ton of vulgar language - in general - while doing this. Now, I don't mind vulgar language. I fucking use it all the mother-fucking, god-damn, shit-ass time. Bitch. But... there's places where it's inappropriate, such as an online game where you have to agree to a set of rules to be able to play in the first place, and those rules are enforced.

It gets better.

Later, I get a tell from some random person asking me about reporting the guy in the first place. I do a few /who's, and sure enough, they're in the same guild. I ask, and yep, the guy is bitching about it in /g - "endlessly". So he lets me know that he thinks what I did was childish, which I agree with. It was pretty funny. I was glad I was able to piss the guy off, really get under his skin, and yet, still be playing by the rules. Does that make me petty and childish? Probably. It's like fighting fire with fire, but instead of fire, using water to make the logs really wet, so they won't burn, or something like that.

So overall, it was fun.

And, since I didn't do the norm for my title:

"Words are so easy to say."

Robyn S -- Show Me Love

No comments: