2004-12-08

In my heart, I call out your name

Some bits and pieces I forgot:

First off, Rose called yesterday evening while I was hanging out at Lilie and Shelley's. Well, technically, she called while I was on the way back from Taco Bell, but the majority of the conversation took place over there. Apparently, I was pacing a great deal. I wasn't doing it on purpose - I just do that. I mean, I was really excited - I hadn't really had a chance to talk to Rose in a while, so catching each other up was a lot of fun. Rose is like a sister to me - sometimes she's younger, sometimes I am, but her and I are very, very close. Not in a romantic way - when we first began talking and realized how close we were growing, we briefly discussed the possibility of the two of us hooking up, but realized it wouldn't be a good idea. We're compatible, but not quite each other's type. It's just something I do - I tend to form very close relationships very quickly - Carrie, Mindy, Lilie, Rose (notice that not all of those names are of girlfriends, just of people that I've gotten very close to very quickly). But anyway. She quit her job at Dell, and her and Katie both are going back to IHOP. Katie is still with James, and the two of them are very happy. They've actually gone to Oregon until like Tuesday, so Rose and I are probably going to hang out Friday or Saturday. We were going to go play DDR - 'cause Rose has played DDR a few times, and really enjoys it - but she managed to hurt her ankle again (well, not again - this time, it's the other one, and it's not nearly as severe this time). So I'm not sure what we'll do. But we'll find something.

Speaking of Oregon, I told Rose about probably having to drive to Washington, and she really wants to come. It'll be a fun road trip. I told her she'd have to buy her own plane ticket back, so she's looking into that. I'm still not completely sure I'm going, but it'd be AWESOME if Rose went too. I'm not sure of what route we'll take - Lilie suggets going up to Colorado then cutting over; we'll cross that bridge when we come to it.

Man, I guess this is the day for renewing acquantinces. Carrie just IM'ed me!! It's been months since we last talked. For those of you not in the know, Carrie was a girl I met in the arcade when I went to North Carolina the last time. We only talked briefly, but exchanged AIM sn's, and started talking a lot after I got back. For a while, we were really close - had we been closer to one another (she lives in Kentucky now), we would have been going out, but neither of us really wanted to do the long distance thing.

So, Adam. I have a number of problems with him. First, he tells people to ignore the boards completely for a bit. I mean, all of the managers *sort* of do that - we'll let the boards go off for a few seconds while we catch up on bagging or making drinks, but we know we have to get them as soon as possible. Adam will leave them going and tell people to just ignore them for a while. It's almost as bad as when Rick just goes through and cancels all of them. Sunday, when he came in early, he parked himself on the dresser station. That's good, because we really need a strong dresser. However, I got a few complaints - one guy ordered two junior burgers with cheese; the first time, they went out without cheese. He called back, and we sent him two new ones out. This time, they went out without pickles - he just asked for a side of pickles. A few minutes later, someone called back, because their double cheeseburger that was supposed to have extra bacon had, in fact, no bacon. I rung it up again with a 'see me' so it would be free, and Adam asked me why I had done it that way. I explained to him that the first time, he had sent it out without bacon. He tried to retaliate with "Well, it wasn't rung up that way", but I knew that was a complete load of shit, since I took that order. I even brought the original order back up on his screen so he could see. He just got all huffy and said "Fine, whatever." Some people don't handle being wrong very well. I then told him about all the complaints I'd gotten on burgers in the past few minutes, and he said, "Fine, if you think you can do it better, you get back here and do it." There are a couple of responses I have to that. First, what does he think, that I shouldn't tell the guy dressing burgers when there's a number of complaints about burgers? Second, I could have done it better - I was a cook for over two years, and the vast, vast majority of the time when I made a burger wrong, it was rung up wrong. I've gone through this with a number of fountains, and they've learned to listen to me.

So then, he comes up and starts making drinks later. There were several orders on the screen, and instead of making the drinks on the first one to get it out, he starts making one drink on each of the first few orders. I called him on it again, and he got really defensive again. I really just wanted to smack him. I later found out he had an altercation with Tracy and told her she was fired. He got in trouble, she didn't.

The Christmas party is this Sunday. I'm contemplating going. I haven't talked to anyone else yet about if they're going, so we'll see. I've gone to two of the three parties we've had, and they're usually a decent time. A few hours of free bowling, hanging out with everybody outside of work... I'll probably go.

I've started playing FFX-2 a lot. I'm really enjoying it. They definitely dared to do something different. The static party throughout the entire game, dresspheres and garment grids... all in all, it's a fun time. Just finished Chapter One.

Just got off the phone with Lilie. I had a couple game related questions to ask her. She sort of had some answers. She (sort of) reiterated her previous invitation (we talked earlier on AIM) to come over. I passed on it. I know, it surprised me too. But we both have to work in the morning - I'm opening; she goes in at 11. There's the chance I'd oversleep, and even if I got up on time, I'd probably wake her up. That, and just because we can spend all this time together, doesn't mean we shouldn't. Let me elaborate on that one, because it sounds weird. I think it has something to do with the idea 'me' time, or time to be by yourself, or something. I don't know. I was going somewhere with this, but I don't remember. I think I was just trying to say that I know what she meant, and I agree?

Anyway.

No comments: