Been having a fun day. Finally went back to Chemistry, just in time for the third test. I think I attended... one (?) of the days when we covered material for that test. So it was fun. I mean, seriously. I haven't had a test like that since high school, where it didn't matter - we get to replace our lowest test grade with our final, and I opted to make sure it was this one. Cocky? Sure. But it's about time I started showing that I'm still the near-genius I was a few years ago. That class is going to go fine; I just have to do some serious review for the final. The lab is turning out to be quite a breeze as well.
Probability is the other class I'm not worried about at all. I did miss a homework assignment, but I've already done this, back in Stat & Prob AP in high school with Stapp. We just go a little more in-depth, and prove statements that we previously took as axioms. I just have to catch up on the homework, and I'll be fine.
Intro to Fine Arts... I'm a little worried on this one. I have either 7 or 8 absences. He gives 5 free ones, then deducts something insane like 7.5 points for each subsequent one. That means I'm looking at something like -15 or 22.5 points. To get a 'C', which is 70%, I'd have to pull off a 92.5. Which I'm not sure I can. I *hate* fine arts. Well, to be more precise, I hate flat, 2-dimensional art. I mean, some of it looks cool, but I hate things like the impressionist movement, where they're just getting their emotions out and seeking catharsis. I certainly don't mind them doing it, I mind having to analyze and try to understand their thoughts in order to prove I can program computers. I suppose you could argue that it's just part of being an educated, well-rounded person. I wouldn't listen if you did. I enjoy classical music, and can deal with that fairly well, and I think that's part of what helped me on the last test. Come to think of it, I don't like analyzing literature either. I mean, I can do it - but it's like pulling teeth. I'm just glad I tested out of mose of it and haven't really had to do any of it since starting college. But back to Intro to Fine Arts (shouldn't the 7 years of band count for something?) - I'm going to get my critique in that's due Friday, then the one that's due at the end of the month, then do the 30 points of extra critiques, and prepare like crazy for this test and the final. That's about all I can do, and I guess I'm ready to repeat this class next semester if necessary (I'm probably going to take like 20-something hours next semester anyway).
CS - this class, I have to pass. Seriously. Right now, I'm looking at graduating next Spring, based on the CS bottleneck - my last two semesters are going to literally be nothing but CS courses, which they seriously don't recommend.
Fuck them.
In other news...
Closed last night as the manager. Looks like Sunday nights are 'my' shift now. Things went all right. Emily is an awesome fountain, and Freddie and Andrew held the kitchen down. But I lost a 21 again. That's endlessly frustrating - I'm not really sure what happened. Habitually, the first thing I do when I start counting a carhop down is count their 21, then put a rubber band on it and throw it in the drawer. But I am fairly absent-minded at times, especially when it comes to leaving small objects (I have the hardest time holding on to pencils and pens), so that's a possible explanation. The other is that someone stole it, but I don't really believe that. There wasn't anyone there that I would accuse of stealing. So I ran to the bank and replaced it from my personal account. Which is endlessly frustrating. But it was my responsibility, so I had little other choice.
I did manage to slam my finger (left index) in my truck door. It hurts like crazy, especially when I use it to put pressure on something else (like type). It still feels kind of compressed at the end as well. There's a decent chunk ripped of my cuticle, almost horizontally, which also really, really hurts. But it's nothing major, and should be healed up before too long.
Things with Lilie are still... well, yeah. I'll talk about that when I get home and have access to my cypher. I tried doing it just now manually, and it doesn't quite work.
That, and I want to see what I can do with that ass-crazy comment someone left.



No comments:
Post a Comment