2004-06-01

Work's been interesting lately

So I worked two doubles in the last two days, for a total of about 24 1/2 hours. I'm not really whining about it, because I did it by choice. I was originally scheduled Saturday 5 - 10, and Sunday 12 - 5. I found out I seriously needed to pick up some extra hours, so I started checking out the schedule for Saturday and Sunday. Anita was in trouble and was possibly going to be fired, so she wasn't going to be coming in Saturday to fountain 11 - 5. I told Javi that I could cover that shift, and that he should call me if he clears it with Dave. I was also looking at something on Sunday. I knew we'd need another fountain Sunday night, since Jessica C was fired. Or suspended. Or something like that. The only problem was that David was fountaining as well, which sucks. I hate fountaning with him. But that's another topic for another time. Bonelle was fountaining 10 - 5, and was trying to drop the shift, so she could leave for Houston that much earlier. I ended up switching with David, my 12 - 5 for his 5 - C, then taking Bonelle's 10 - 5. It was... fun. I was *so* tired Sunday night.

So I stopped by work this morning to say hey and double check my schedule for this week (which is really good, except for doing the truck Wednesday). I went home and fell asleep. I was supposed to work 12 - 5 (C) today. Javi called around 11:15 and asked me if I could go to Buda before coming in and get some fried chicken and chicken strips; I was to call him and let him know when I was leaving so he could clock me in. I told him I'd do it, then went back to sleep. There's the main problem - he was hoping I would leave fairly soon after that call, and be back with the goods in time to start my shift as normal at noon.

Those of you who've been paying any sort of attention will already know that that didn't happen. I woke up about 12:15, and was out the door in two minutes. I called Rudy on my way (he was the one who picked up the phone) and let him know that I was on my way. A few minutes later, I started to recall the conversation I had with Javi, but wasn't sure if I had dreamed it or what - I tend to have dreams about work occassionally, especially after working a lot. I called again, and Javi confirmed our earlier conversation. He told me to go ahead and go to Buda.

So I did.

I drove *really* fast, and made record time both ways. Bubba recognized me, and gave me a case of strips and a bag of chicken. He asked why I shaved my head, and I told him it was because I hadn't done so before. He said, and I quote, "Are you serious?"

I made it back to San Marcos about... 1:10 or so. We were getting our ass kicked, hardcore. Stuff was going out of the kitchen at like 6 minutes and later. I mean, it didn't help that David and Anita were the fountains (along with Rudy), but I should have been there. I could have serously helped, and I feel really bad about it, especially since I'm a blue shirt and all. It's a good thing Dave wasn't there - he left around 11 or so. Things slowed down around 2 or so, and Javi told me that Dave wanted him to wash and polish all the menu boards, and he wasn't looking foward to doing so. I told him I'd do it, and Ray volunteered to help him. Javi and Ray ended up going out to do it, while Rick and I cooked. Rick made a comment about it taking him half an hour to do the whole thing by himself, while they'd only do half that in the same time, despite having two of them. They came back in a bit later, having done 20 and 26 - 30. We switched out; Rick scrubbed and I polished. We got all of them done, except 31 and 16 - 11, before coming back in. Rick stayed in so Javi could finish morning prep (it was 4 or so at this point), and I went to finish the boards.

All hell broke loose - at one point, it was hailing. But I finished the boards and came back in about 4:50. Thomas got there and Javi was staying for Freddie, so I left. All in all, it was fun. It would have been a good shift to work - Monday night, I mean - 'cause the new Shannon and Katie were carhopping. That would have been pretty cool. I don't like either one, but they're my favorite people to work with. I have to go do the truck on Wednesday, but I'm off tomorrow. That'll be fun - I'm catching up on some D&D stuff, and cleaning my room.

No comments: